• A
  • A
  • A


  • Įprasta
  • Šviesi
  • Tamsi

Symphonic Dances


Leonard Bernstein’s (1918-1990) orchestral suite Symphonic Dances from the musical West Side Story is one of the world’s most performed opuses of contemporary classical music. The composer’s desire to fuse the rich musical cultures of North and Latin America has led to the enduring popularity of this piece, which is also reflected in its many arrangements. The arrangement for a wind orchestra was made by composer Paul Lavender. The nine-movement suite, which requires a special performer virtuosity, features a whole range of various dance music styles, including cha-cha, mambo, and latino.

Inspired by Leonard Bernstein’s exuberant suite, the State Wind Orchestra Trimitas (Artistic Director-Chief Conductor Leif Karlsson) also presents contemporary interpretations of the symphonic dance genre, including works by Adam Gorb, Alexander Kosmicki, Jean Sibelius and others.

Artistic Director-Chief Conductor Leif Karlsson (Sweden)

The premiere took place on 9 July 2021 (Friday), 19:00, at Vilnius Town Hall (Didžioji St. 31, Vilnius)